Latest Veterinary News

 

The process by which the brains of ground squirrels are protected against low oxygen during hibernation could lead to a new treatment for ischemic stroke. [...]
Tue, Nov 21, 2017
Source Veterinary News
Your pooch is not just great company. A new study finds that our four-legged friends could reduce the likelihood of premature death. [...]
Sat, Nov 18, 2017
Source Veterinary News
A new study of arthropods in 50 U.S. homes suggests that their diversity is influenced more by access to the outdoors than the behavior of human residents. [...]
Fri, Nov 10, 2017
Source Veterinary News
The home is a safe haven, but are we aware of the health risks hidden in its nooks and crannies? Here we investigate the less obvious domestic hazards. [...]
Thu, Nov 02, 2017
Source Veterinary News
New research investigates the molecular mechanism that allows the rabies virus to induce aggressive behavior in the infected host. [...]
Sat, Oct 14, 2017
Source Veterinary News
A pioneering study looks at the impact of caregiver burden among owners of sick animals. The results point to elevated stress and poorer quality of life. [...]
Tue, Sep 19, 2017
Source Veterinary News
A new study investigates the divisive question: should you sleep with your dog? The answer is twofold: yes, but your own bed should be off-limits. [...]
Mon, Sep 11, 2017
Source Veterinary News
Learning to associate spouses with unrelated positive stimuli - such as pictures of puppies - could help to improve marital satisfaction, study suggests. [...]
Sun, Jun 25, 2017
Source Veterinary News
Researchers have found that a protein in the venom of the Tropidolaemus wagleri snake may lead to a safer antiplatelet medication. [...]
Sun, Jun 11, 2017
Source Veterinary News
Older dog owners walk more than non-dog owners, according to a new study, adding further evidence that owning a dog is good for our health. [...]
Sat, Jun 10, 2017
Source Veterinary News
Our pets not only bring us joy and companionship, they offer benefits for health and well-being, too. We take a closer look at what these are. [...]
Fri, Jun 02, 2017
Source Veterinary News
Declaw surgery (onychectomy) is illegal in many countries but is still a surprisingly common practice in some. [...]
Thu, May 25, 2017
Source Veterinary News