Latest Veterinary News

 

New research warns that levels of a toxic compound are on the rise in many species of fish and that this trend is set to continue. The question is: Why? [...]
Fri, Aug 09, 2019
Source Veterinary News
Researchers now show that crickets and other insects pack a very high antioxidant content, which could make them top contenders as super-nutritious foods. [...]
Mon, Jul 15, 2019
Source Veterinary News
Are you scared or fascinated by crawling, flying, scurrying critters? This Spotlight feature explains how creepy crawlies may forward clinical research. [...]
Fri, Jul 05, 2019
Source Veterinary News
New research reveals that flying insects that make their way into hospitals can carry many harmful bacteria able to cause dangerous infections. [...]
Fri, Jun 28, 2019
Source Veterinary News
In a new study, beagles were able to detect the presence of cancer with extremely high accuracy. Could their 'sniff skills' lead to novel screening tests? [...]
Wed, Jun 19, 2019
Source Veterinary News
Researchers have discovered four previously unknown proteins in snail mucus, at least three of which have the potential to fight harmful bacteria. [...]
Tue, Jun 18, 2019
Source Veterinary News
Researchers have found two chemicals that are effective against dangerous bacteria. The source of these healing compounds? The venom of a Mexican scorpion. [...]
Thu, Jun 13, 2019
Source Veterinary News
New evidence suggests that human brains, unlike those of monkeys, may have evolved to 'listen' for pitch, which characterizes music and speech. [...]
Tue, Jun 11, 2019
Source Veterinary News
A study of tens of thousands of identical and nonidentical twins in Sweden suggests that genetic makeup could be a strong factor in choosing to own a dog. [...]
Thu, May 23, 2019
Source Veterinary News
New research in mice suggests that molecules derived from a species of parasitic fish could help tackle cancer and other conditions in the brain. [...]
Sun, May 19, 2019
Source Veterinary News
Whales have a minimal risk of developing cancer, despite factors that may lead us to think otherwise. Why is this, and how can this knowledge help us? [...]
Wed, May 15, 2019
Source Veterinary News
A study of spider venom looks deeper into its molecular makeup than ever before. The findings may lead to treatments for neurological conditions. [...]
Sat, May 11, 2019
Source Veterinary News